The Japan Open Roller Derby Tournament: International Roller Derby in Okinawa


The Japan Open Roller Derby Tournament: International Roller Derby in Okinawa

by: . | .
Kokeshi Roller Dolls | .
published: March 14, 2016

The Kokeshi Roller Dolls (KRD) and the Japan Roller Derby Association (JRDA) are proud to announce the inaugural Japan Open Roller Derby Tournament, Asia’s first roller derby tournament that includes teams from the Asia-Pacific area. The invitational tournament will be held at Comprehensive Park Arena in Okinawa, Japan March 25-26 with FREE admission for all. Each day begins at 9 a.m. with doors opening at 8:30 a.m. and bouts occurring throughout the day.

Leagues will play according to the WFTDA (Women’s Flat Track Roller Derby) rules. Division A teams will play official WFTDA sanctioned bouts and Division B teams will play by WFTDA rule set. Division A teams include Adelaide Roller Derby (Australia), Kokeshi Roller Dolls (Japan), Tokyo Roller Girls (Japan), Devil Dog Derby Dames (Japan), Juneau Rollergirls (United States), and Copenhagen Roller Derby (Denmark). Division B teams include Pirate City Rollers (New Zealand), Killa Geishas of Misawa (Japan), Nippon Senbatsu (Japan), and the Devil Dog Derby Dames Home Team (Japan).

The tournament will take place inside a 1,500 seat arena, located on the grounds of the expansive Okinawa Prefectural Athletic Park in Okinawa City. The lower concourse will house 2 full regulation tracks, locker rooms, and public restrooms accessible by the north stairwell. The upper concourse will offer spectator seating overlooking the skating surface and host team vendor tables, all accessible from the 1F outdoor stair entrance. Concessions will also be located outside.

Each bout consists of two 30 minute intervals. The action takes place in two-minute jams. During each jam, five players from each team use offensive and defensive maneuvers to help their point scorer (the Jammer) get through eight blockers (the Pack) while stopping the opposing Jammer from doing the same. Once the Jammer’s through, they race the oval track and rush to get through the pack again to pick up points. Points are scored by the Jammer for every opposing blocker she passes. Referees monitor the action and issue penalties to keep gameplay safe.

The tournament will have 1 winner per division that will be determined by most bouts won. In case of a tie, winners will be determined by point differential. JRDA chooses to recognize a Japan Open Champion and award the highest ranked Japan team with that title. Radar Wheels is sponsoring an MVP from each division, awarding a prize package valued at $145.
Roller derby is a fast growing international sport, so come watch leagues from the Asia-Pacific area in Okinawa, Japan at the first Japan Open Roller Derby Tournament. The JRDA (Japan Roller Derby Association) is the primary sponsor of the Japan Open Roller Derby Tournament. A gracious thank you goes out to Okinawa Prefectural Athletic Park and the Tokyo Dai-Ichi Hotel Okinawa Grand Mer Resort.

For official tournament photographer or media inquiries, please contact Please visit for a complete schedule and more information.

Name of Event:
Japan Open Roller Derby Tournament 2016

Dates and Hours:
9:00 AM-7:00 PM, March 25(Fri.), 2016
9:00 AM-8:00 PM, March 26(Sat.), 2016

Okinawa Comprehensive Athletic Park, Okinawa City, Okinawa Prefecture, Japan


Sponsored by:
Japan Roller Derby Association (JRDA)
Radar Wheels
Roadie Photography
TechNinja Productions

Hosted by:
Kokeshi Roller Dolls (KRD)

Supported by:
Japan Roller Sports Federation (JRSF)
Okinawa City/Okinawa City Board of Education
Okinawa Amateur Sports Association
Okinawa Convention & Visitors Bureau
The Ryukyu Shimpo
The Okinawa Times
Okinawa Television Broadcasting Co., Ltd.
Ryukyu Asahi Broadcasting Corporation
Ryukyu Broadcasting Corp.
Radio Okinawa
FM Okinawa

Participating Teams to Date:

◇Division A
Copenhagen Roller Derby (Denmark)
Adelaide Roller Derby (Australia)
Devil Dog Derby Dames (Japan)
Juneau Rollergirls (USA)
Kokeshi Roller Dolls (Japan)
Tokyo Roller Girls (Japan)

◇Division B
Pirate City Rollers (New Zealand)
Devil Dog Derby Dames Home Team (Japan)
Misawa Killa Geishas (Japan)
Nippon Senbatsu (Japan)


◇Kokeshi Roller Dolls (English)

◇Japan Roller Derby Association (Japanese)