Remember scholarship deadlines for seniors

News

Remember scholarship deadlines for seniors

by: Kim Suchek | .
. | .
published: August 20, 2013

Hello military community,

For those of us that are preparing our child for senior year, there is one word that may best sum up how we are feeling: “Bombarded” with all those due dates and needed items. There’re the senior pictures to be turned in before the fall, senior meetings, career centers, school clothes, driver licenses – oh how the list just keeps getting longer.

Thankfully a friend of mine and fellow parent of a senior last year reminded me about the necessity of printing and starting to apply for scholarships. Every organization/foundation has time limits, rules and eligibility requirements that will vary from others.

Last year, I listed some related government websites and non-profit scholarship organizations and companies. Now I have listed several military scholarships that can provide assistance in areas of tuition, books, materials, gas, parking, food and much more.

Remember, “the early bird catches the worm.” Good luck!

  1. Air Force Sergeants Association:  www.hqafsa.org
  2. American Legion:  www.legion.org
  3. AMVETS (American Veterans):  www.amvetsnsf.org
  4. Armed Services YMCA:  www.scholarships4students.com
  5. Army Emergency Relief (AER):  www.aerhq.org/dnn563/scholarships.aspx
  6. ASMBA Star Foundation:  www.asmbastar.com/giving.asp
  7. Blinded Veterans Association:  www.bva.org/services.html
  8. Bob Woodruff Foundation:  www.woodruff.org
  9. Children of Fallen Patriots Foundation:  fallenpatriots.org
  10. Coast Guard Mutual Assistance:  www.cgmahq.org
  11. Dolphin Scholarship Foundation:  www.dolphinscholarship.org
  12. Fisher House Foundation:   www.fisherhouse.org/programs/scholarship
  13. Fleet Reserve Association:   www.fra.org
  14. Freedom Alliance:   www.fascholarship.com
  15. Marine Corps League:  mclfoundation.org/scholarship_programs
  16. Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation:   www.mcsf.org
  17. Military Child Education Coalition:  www.militarychild.org
  18. Military Officers Association of America Scholarship Fund:   moaa.org/scholarshipfund
  19. Military Warriors Support Foundation:   www.militarywarriors.org
  20. National Military Family Association:   www.militaryfamily.org
  21. Our Military Kids:   www.ourmilitarykids.org
  22. Naval Special Warfare Foundation:   www.navysealfoundation.org
  23. Patriot Foundation:   www.patriotscholarships.com/home.html
  24. Southwest Veterans Business Resource Center:   www.wherecommunitiesserveveterans.org and www.ag.ca.gov/charities
  25. Special Operations Warrior Foundation:   www.specialops.org
  26. ThanksUSA:   www.thanksusa.org/main/scholarships.html
  27. Travis Manion Foundation:  http: //www.travismanion.org
  28. Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States:   www.vfw.org
  29. Wings Over America Scholarship Foundation:   www.wingsoveramerica.us

If you have any questions about these scholarships or others write in and let me know.

Blessings from my family to yours,

Kim Suchek

If you have any questions or concerns or would like to share a story or situation, contact me at Kim@MilitaryResourceBooks.com and visit my website at MilitaryResourceBooks.com for updated information and other resources not listed in my book.